DEUTSCH DE | ENGLISH EN

Fundamentals

Electron tomography is a type of axial or computational tomography. The latter term is well known from medical applications under the acronym CT. The need to calculate a three-dimensional (3D) reconstruction from a set of initially acquired data is common to both x-ray based CT and electron tomography. The acquired data contains a series of projections obtained from the object of interest viewed along different directions. In order to obtain a projection, the specimen has to be penetrated by electrons. The transmitted electrons form an image detected on the specimen side opposite to the illumination source (Figure 1). In contrast to x-rays, electrons have a smaller range in matter. Hence, specimens have to be prepared with an adequate size and geometry, that is, they ideally exhibit a needle shape. Depending on the material under investigation, the needle diameter must be less than 1 µm or even less than 100 nm. In that way, the specimen is transparent to electrons during a full tilt series.

formation of projection
Figure 1 - Transmission of electrons through a specimen and formation of a projection. The needle-shape of the specimen allows to transmit electrons through the specimen in all directions perpendicular to the tilt axis. Here, the needle predominantly consists of GaSb and the diameter is approximately 150 nm.

Prior to the calculation of the 3D reconstruction, the tilt series of images has to be aligned. The following videos demonstrate the raw and the aligned series. In the former one, the specimen seems to jump on a scale of several 10 nm which arises due to mechanical inaccuracies of the specimen stage. In the latter one, the images are shifted in order to approximately align them with respect to a significant object.

Figure 2 - The videos show a tilt series of images as acquired (left) and after rough alignment (right). The series shows projections of the specimen taken in steps of 2° over a tilt range of 180°.

Different algorithms are available for the calculation of the 3D reconstruction from the aligned tilt series. The selection of an appropriate algorithm depends, for instance, on the sampling parameters (tilt range and angle step), the signal-to-noise ratio in the data set and the intended evaluation of 3D data. In general, the contemporary performance of a desktop computer with a dedicated graphics card satisfies the computation requirements of common algorithms.
An illustrative explanation of the reconstruction (Figure 3) is given according to the "back-projection" algorithm. The set of aligned images is located around the volume which is to be reconstructed. The grey value of each image pixel is traced as ray into the volume. The superposition of rays results in a approximated reconstruction of the original object. The reconstructed volume consists of "voxels" (analogue to pixels in a 2D image). They posses a grey scale value.

schematic illustration of the reconstruction
Figure 3 - The schematic illustrates the reconstruction of a 3D object from a set of 2D images assembled in a tilt series.

The evaluation of the tomographic data requires a certain representation of the reconstructed volume. A typical representation - as common in medical analyses - is the sequence of slices through the volume (original meaning of "tomogram"). These slices are 2D images as shown in the left video of Figure 4. The pixel grey values are equivalent to the respective voxel values. In order to keep the 3D impression, the objects of interest have to be rendered. The video in the middle of Figure 4 presents an opaque isosurface of the needle shaped specimen. The isosurface corresponds to voxels with only one selected grey value. If necessary, the surface is smoothed and/or shown semitransparent. Alternatively, the 3D data is "volume rendered" as shown in the right video of Figure 4. Here, a color scale is allocated to the grey values and the voxels are shown semitransparent. Eventually, it might be necessary to manually render 3D objects. That is, contours have to be drawn into the slices in order to render the objects of interest. The set of contours from different slices making up one object are subsequently joined and represented as a 3D (opaque or semitransparent) object.
The representation as video is a compromise between a 2D image and the capability to actively regard the object in a 3D viewer. In the former case, shadows and specular surfaces have to evoke the impression of spatiality. In the latter case, the observer intentionally rotates the object on a computer with the available software controls for object movements.
In the first instance, the choice of the representation has to answer the demands of the analysis, as for instance the revelation of morphology, size and distribution of objects or their spatial location and orientation, if necessary, with respect to other features within the specimen. On the other hand, aspects of visibility, comprehensibility and aesthetic have to be concerned.

Figure 4 - The videos show different representations of a 3D reconstruction: slices through the volume (left), an opaque and, subsequently, a semitransparent isosurface (middle) and a "volume rendering" (right).

DEUTSCH DE | ENGLISH EN

Grundlagen

Bei der Elektronentomographie handelt es sich um Axial- oder Computertomographie, welche im medizinischen Fachbereich mit CT abgekürzt wird. Wie bei röntgenbasierter Tomographie, besteht auch bei der Elektronentomographie die Notwendigkeit dreidimensionale (3D) Rekonstruktionen aus den ursprünglich erhobenen Daten zu berechnen. Diese Daten enthalten eine Reihe von Projektionen des Objektes aus verschiedenen Richtungen. Die Projektionen werden mithilfe eines Elektronenstrahls aufgenommen, der die Probe durchdringt. Die transmittierten Elektronen erzeugen ein Bild auf dem Detektor gegenüber der Elektronenquelle (Abb. 1). Im Vergleich zu Röntgenstrahlung haben Elektronen eine kürzere Reichweite in Materie. Deshalb müssen die Proben auf die richtige Größe und in Form einer Nadel gebracht werden. Abhängig vom untersuchten Material sollte der Durchmesser der Nadel kleiner als 1 µm sein, in manchen Fällen sogar kleinre als 100 nm. Somit wird sichergestellt, dass die Proben über die gesamte Verkippung von den Elektronen durchdrungen werden können.

formation of projection
Abb. 1 - Transmission von Elektronen durch eine Probe und Entstehung einer Projektion. Die Probe ist nadelförmig, damit sie in allen Richtungen senkrecht zur Kippachse für die Elektronen transparent ist. Diese Nadel besteht hauptsächlich aus GaSb und hat einen Durchmesser von ca. 150 nm.

Bevor die 3D-Rekonstruktion berechnet werden kann, müssen die Bilder aus der Kippserie richtig angeordnet werden. Die Videos in Abb. 2 zeigen die Bilder vor und nachdem sie ausgerichtet wurden. Im ersten Video scheint die Probe in der Größenordnung von mehreren 10 nm zu springen, was auf die mechanischen Ungenauigkeit des Objekttisches zurückzuführen ist. Im zweiten Video wurden die Bilder verschoben, um sie relativ zu einem auffallenden Teil der Probe auszurichten.

Abb. 2 - Hier wird die Bilderserie der Verkippung gezeigt bevor (links) und nachdem (rechts) sie grob ausgerichtet wurde. Es ist eine Reihe von Projektionen der Probe zu sehen, aufgenommen in 2° Schritten über einen Kippbereich von 180°.

Es sind verschiedene Algorithmen zur Berechnung der 3D-Rekonstruktion aus den ausgerichteten Kippserien verfügbar. Für die Auswahl müssen Probenparameter (Kippbereich und Schrittweite), das Signal-Rausch-Verhältnis und die bevorstehenden Auswertungsschritte beachtet werden. Allgemein erfüllt ein Desktop Computers mit dezidierter Grafikkarte die Leistungsvoraussetzungen der meisten Algorithmen.
Eine Erklärung der Rekonstruktion mithilfe des "back-projection" Algorithmus ist in Abb. 3 gegeben. Die Serie der ausgerichteten Bilder ist um das Volumen angeordnet, welches rekonstruiert werden soll. Der Grauwert jedes Bildpunktes wird als Strahl in das Volumen verfolgt. Aus der Superposition der Strahlen folgt eine ungefähre Rekonstruktion des ursprünglichen Objektes. Das nachgebildete Volumen besteht aus "Voxeln" (analog zu Pixeln in einem 2D Bild), welche einen Grauwert besitzen.

schematic illustration of the reconstruction
Abb. 3 - Schematische Darstellung der Rekonstruktion eines 3D Objektes aus einer Reihe von 2D Bildern aus einer Kippserie.

Die Auswertung der Tomographiedaten benötigt eine Darstellung des rekonstruierten Volumens. Eine typische Darstellungsart - bekannt aus medizinischen Analysen - ist durch eine Reihe von Schnitten durch das Objekt (der ursprünglichen Bedeutung von Tomogramm). Diese Schnitte stellen 2D-Bilder dar und sind ind Abb. 4 im linken Video zu sehen. Die Grauwerte der Pixel entsprechen den Grauwerten der entsprechenden Voxel. Um den Eindruck einer 3D Darstellung zu erhalten, muss das Objekt gerendert werden. Im mittleren Video von Abb. 4 ist eine undurchsichtige Isofläche der Nadel zu sehen. Die Isofläche entspricht den Voxeln mit einem bestimmten Grauwert. Falls notwendig kann die Oberfläche geglättet oder halbdurchsichtig dargestellt werden. Alternativ dazu kann auch das Volumen des Objektes gerendert werden, wie es in Abb. 4 im rechten Video dargestellt wird. Hierzu wird den Grauwerten eine Farbskala zugewiesen und die Voxels werden semitransparent angezeigt. Letztendlich ist es womöglich nötig 3D Objekte manuell zu rendern. Dies bedeutet Konturen in die Schnitte zu zeichnen um die 3D Objekte zu rendern. Die gewählten Konturen der verschiedenen Schnitte beschreiben ein Objekt und werden anschließend zu einem (undurchsichtigen oder semitransparenten) 3D Objekt zusammengefügt.
Die Darstellung als Video ist ein Kompromiss zwischen einem 2D Bild und der Möglichkeit das Objekt aktiv in 3D zu betrachten. Bei Bildern wir durch Schatten und spiegelnden Oberflächen der Eindruck von Räumlichkeit geweckt. Die aktive Betrachtung kann durch Bewegung des Objektes in Computersoftware realisiert werden.
In erster Linie muss die Wahl der Repräsentation den Ansprüchen der Analyse gerecht werden, zum Beispiel die Abbildung der Morphologie, Größe und Verteilung von Objekten oder deren räumliche Lage und Orientierung, wenn nötig im Bezug auf andere Features in der probe. Auf der anderen Seite müssen auch Aspekte wie Übersichtlichkeit, Verständlichkeit und Ästhetik beachtet werden.

Abb. 4 - Die Videos zeigen unterschiedliche Repräsentationen von 3D Rekonstruktionen: Schnitte durch das Volumen (links), eine undurchsichtige und anschließend eine semitransparente Isofläche (mitte) sowie ein gerendertes Volumen (rechts).